You Can’t Take It With You (1938) – Reviews of Unknown/Underrated Movies

So… it’s 2020. Life is still insanely busy for me and honestly just sort of sucks bilge for literally everyone. Pandemic quarantines, murder hornets, riots… I think everyone could use a moment’s break. So, let’s talk about one of my favorite comedy movies! If you’ve ever wondered what life is like in my family, the Sycamore family in this movie and the DiMeo family in the TV show Speechless (2016-2019) pretty much sum us up, haha. I’ve never met someone who knew about this movie without having been introduced to it by us… As such, it’s one of those things that make me deeply and truly sad about how forgetful the vast majority of society is; it shouldn’t be impossible to know about the existence of and enjoy things that were created before you were born (or to get along with people outside of your own age group, for that matter… Heck, I, myself, usually get along better with little kids and the elderly than I do people my own age). This gem won two dang Oscars, was nominated for seven more and won the Academy Award for Best Picture (the play it was based on also won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama) and, if you ask me, it truly deserves a special place in the Realm of Cinematic Classics.

The cast was brilliantly talented – that’s not even counting Jimmy Stewart (he’s always a win), hehe – and clearly had fun with just going nuts (I also kinda wonder if they pulled a few of those “not telling the cast what’s gonna happen to get a more genuine reaction” things you hear about). Despite the occasional 1930’s slang that might go over a 21st century person’s head (and, of course, while I can’t see anything to be offended by, I’m sure some wussy modern person somewhere will find something <eyerolls into the next dimension>), the important message and most of the humor is absolutely timeless and relatable. I’ll also say that many of my favorite quotes come from this movie, especially from the mouth of the grandfather. Just in the opening scene, we have:

Grandpa Martin Vanderhof: Do you like this?

Poppins: Like it?

Grandpa Martin Vanderhof: This work that you’re doing?

Poppins: Oh, no, my goodness, no. Land sakes, what am I saying.

Grandpa Martin Vanderhof: Then, why do you do it?

As well as:

Grandpa Martin Vanderhof: How would you like to come over to our house and work on your gadgets?

Poppins: Your house? Well I don’t know, thank you.

Grandpa Martin Vanderhof: Oh go on, you’ll love it. Everybody over at our place does just what he wants to do.

Poppins: Really?

Grandpa Martin Vanderhof: Mmm-hmmmm.

Poppins: That must be wonderful. But how would I live?

Grandpa Martin Vanderhof: The same way we do.

Poppins: The same way? Well who takes care of you?

Grandpa Martin Vanderhof: The same One that takes care of the lilies of the field, Mr. Poppins, except that we toil a little, spin a little, have a barrel of fun. If you want to, come on over and become a lily too.

And:

Poppins: The die is cast. I’m a lily!

Grandpa Martin Vanderhof: Have some popcorn.

I was insanely impressed, as well, with how ahead of their time they were all around. Kirby Jr. described fantasizing about and attempting to invent what literally amounted to solar power panels with an old friend based on their observations of grass. And I do say everyone could learn a thing or two from the Sycamore family in this day and age when, more than ever before, even those who don’t want to be and wouldn’t at all be suited to it are not only encouraged but downright pressured to be “kings of the jungle with the longest claws and the sharpest teeth (I talked a bit about how this seems to be especially true for us women in my review of April and the Extraordinary World (2015)).” And I love how lovingly the sycamore family treated even their black “unofficially adopted family members–” especially considering the time period (my gosh, they were even actually played by black actors, not white actors in blackface as was common back then).

While shots could often be a bit busy, there was never a boring moment– especially in the Sycamore house, on both counts. I love the attention to detail that makes watching all the little things happening in the background so amusing. And the character development was simply wonderful – even for mainly-background characters like Mr. Poppins, but especially for Kirby Sr. The scenes in the jail and the bank were so impactful, you could just feel the gut punch of his entire worldview being absolutely uprooted. Also, the romance never got inappropriate. 10/10, always recommend, already watch several times a year (especially at Christmastime– not because it’s “a Christmas movie,” which it’s not, but because that was when we discovered it which makes it a nostalgic time and well… it just sort of has that vibe, y’know? I saw one person say it could be considered a spiritual sister to It’s a Wonderful Life (1946) and… yeah, I can see it).

Before I sign off… in honor of a century since the 1920’s and 82 years since this masterpiece was released into the world, I’d like to express my excitement for the Lackadaisy animated film (SERIOUSLY, I WANNA SEE THIS!! BEST. COMIC. EVER!! Also, I’m dying waiting for the new Bendy and the Dark Revival game but I’m glad they’re taking the time to make it well after the unfortunate setbacks… At least I have Dreams Come to Life to read, in the meantime) and add a recommendation for a little something else that’s put a smile on my face in these trying times. I don’t think I’ve ever had a favorite album before, and there are still at least three tracks left to be released at the time I write this, but one of my favorite YouTube musicians has been creating an Electroswing (1920’s-30’s Swing Music x Electro-Dance Music hybrid genre) album that I think I can safely say is, in fact, my favorite album. I’ve embedded the official playlist below for you to enjoy and I’ll say its message is coincidentally oddly appropriate to this year. Excellent work to OR3O and everyone else on the team and, to my readers, keep your chins up.

“Even when you’re deep in the sea, light can still be seen.”

Leave a comment